Integration Hub: Settings

We advise you to read and understand the settings before setting up your integration in the Integration Hub.

When setting up your integration, you can decide what should be updated every time the integration syncs and what should not. This is done using settings.


Before delving into the settings, it's important to understand the following:

If no data is retrieved from the integration, your user will be assigned the default from your platform.

To set up your integration yourself in the integration hub, we recommend reading this article: Integration Hub: Integrate with Learningbank.

Here, you will get to know how to set up the integration step by step and also become familiar with things to look out for, such as exclude and include lists.

Now, let's explore the settings!


Enable or disable Job Profile - This setting is enabled by default

  • Enabled: When you enable the job profile, Learningbank syncs data from your integrated system (like your HR system or Active Directory). This means that when the data updated is updated in your integrated system it'll automatically be updated in Learningbank, keeping both systems in sync.
  • Disabled: If the job profile is disabled, Learningbank will still pull data from your external system, but you can update it manually. So if the job profile is disabled, the integration won't automatically make updates. This option is useful if you if the data in your integrated system isn't well-organized.

Enable or disable Permissions - This setting is disabled by default

  • Default: Managing permissions within the platform is crucial for controlling user access. By default, this setting is disabled to ensure that the users in the platform retain their assigned permissions without overwriting them from the external system. Enabling this setup allows for the synchronisation of permission types (or user types).
  • Enabled: This setup is particularly useful when the integrated system has its own set of user types/permissions that need to be mirrored in the platform. It is worth noting that enabling this setup and syncing permissions for users will create permissions with identical names to those in the integrated system but with basic settings in the platform. Therefore, we recommend that you adjust the permission types afterwards as needed.

❗If you enable this setting: During the synchronisation, it is crucial to put any administrator on the exclude list if they also exist in the integrated system you do this under the "Users" tab in the integration. This prevents the overwriting of administrator permissions, ensuring that users with administrator privileges are not affected.


Enable or disable departments - This setting is enabled by default

  • Enabled: Departments are crucial for the setup of the platform to ensure that users can see and interact with the correct users and departments, following the waterfall structure. This setup is enabled by default, where it overrides the departments assigned to a user in the platform with the departments assigned in the external system. This setup is useful when the external system incorporates the use of departments that need to be consistent with the ones in the platform.
  • Disabled: If the setting is disabled, the users from the external system will retain the department assigned to them in the platform. If the user does not exist on the platform, they will be created by the department of the external system.

❗It is important to note that synchronising with an integrated system does not automatically create the departmental waterfall structure (hierarchy). That must be done manually with the parent department directly under the department tab. After the waterfall structure has been created manually, it will stay this way.

If you wish to have your department structure hierarchically by default, we must create a hierarchy department integration, customised for you.

Reach out to your Customer Success Manager or support@learningbank.io to initiate this, and be informed that it comes with a cost. For organisations with fewer than 30 departments, you most likely can handle this manually as a one-time setup.


Enable or disable users - This setting is disabled as the default

  • Default: To facilitate both integration and manual user uploads, it's essential to keep the "Deactivate users" setting disabled. This set up is commonly used for consultants or external personnel requiring training access and is not included in the integrated user management system. In this case, we recommend also setting up user automation to ensure users from the integration are deactivated and that you comply with GDPR.
  • Enabled: Enabling this setup guarantees automatic deactivation of users once they are removed from your user management system. This is commonly used when incorporating the user's last day into the integration, allowing for automated deactivation.

❗If enabled, any users who have been manually created in the platform need to be excluded under the "Users" tab or whole departments on the "Departments" tab. If they are not excluded, they will be considered as not being part of the external system and, therefore, deactivated.


Other useful integration articles:

If you have any further questions, please reach our support🚀